Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, was founded in 1920 at the University of Texas, Austin and is today headquartered in Washington, DC. Rice University chartered the Alpha Epsilon Pi chapter in 2008 and has initiated over 100 members since then. 

Pi Sigma Alpha has several goals:

  • recognize and promote excellence in academic achievement for political science, government, inter national and public affairs
  • to stimulate scholarship and interest in political science
  • promote curricular and extracurricular activities related to political science
  • promote civil dialog

New members are inducted into Pi Sigma Alpha every spring (March-April). Membership in the Alpha Epsilon Pi chapter requires high academic achievement. Students must meet the following criteria:

  • more than 60 credit hours with an overall GPA higher than 3.75
  • more than 10 hours of political science coursework, including at least one upper-division course (NOTE: You do not have to be a political science major)
  • a GPA of 3.0 or higher in those political science courses

The chapter organizes activities related to political science scholarship and politics throughout the year that are open to members and non-members. Chapter members have the opportunity to participate in a national undergraduate conference and submit papers to the Pi Sigma Alpha undergraduate journal. Members are also eligible for internship scholarships, graduate school scholarships, and awards through the national organization. Deadlines are in May and June of each year.

Pi Sigma Alpha also publishes a newsletter with information on current events and happenings in the Pi Sigma Alpha community. For more information on the national Pi Sigma Alpha organization, go to www.pisigmaalpha.org

Alpha Epsilon Pi chapter information:

The current advisor for the Alpha Epsilon Pi chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha is Professor Leslie Schwindt-Bayer and the chapter has an advisory committee composed of professors Paul Brace, Songying Fang, Melissa Marschall, and Ric Stoll.

For more information about the Rice chapter, please contact Leslie Schwindt-Bayer at schwindt@rice.edu